Lyn Bromley

Memories

Image

Following on from my post yesterday where I talked about enjoying things before they happened, I just wanted to let you know that we didn’t watch Girls Just Want To Have Fun after all!  We were too busy just chatting and catching up, that by the time we were ready to watch, we realised that it was almost 11pm, so we changed our minds.  We did have a lovely time.  We chatted about our memories from when we first became friends, when we we had just started junior school, about the age of 7-8.  Lots of our memories seemed to revolve around food.  I remember being at Deb’s house, staying over night, taking milk up to bed with us (and the hidden sweets of course!) and then eating toast and jam for breakfast!  When I think of that memory, it’s like I am there, back in the kitchen of our childhood, I can smell the toast cooking, see everything in the kitchen, just as it was and feel happy as I recall the carefree days of our our pre-teen years.

It’s wonderful to spend time with friends who you have known for years.  They know mostly everything about you and even though you may spend time apart, when you are back together, you fall into the familiar rhythm of years gone by.

I hope you all enjoyed your day doing whatever it was you had planned.

Until tomorrow,

Lyn

Standard

7 thoughts on “Memories

  1. Spending time with friends is so precious, Lyn. What a beautiful evening you had. I always think true friends are ones that you may not see often, but when you do, it is like you saw each other yesterday!

  2. Jacqui Malpass says:

    I too love those moments when I get back with old friends, you don’t need to explain anything you all just are. Sounds like great fun.

  3. Hi Lyn!

    I love those fabulous childhood memories & they usually involve something simple like eating pancakes or flying down a water slide. 🙂 And that’s what I love about my long-term friendships: even if we don’t see each other for a long time, everything falls right into place when we get back together again.

    Glad we met via UBC. Cheers!

Please Leave a Reply

