Body Image, Confidence, First Impressions, Lyn Bromley

Kaftans and clogs!

Miu Miu red polka dot peep toe platform clogs

Miu Miu red polka dot peep toe platform clogs

I have just been listening to Miranda’s book as I drove around today ‘Is it just me’, and I love her observations – it’s a great read or listen, I highly recommend it!

Whilst listening to Miranda, I didn’t expect to be agreeing with her on her attitude to grooming and style, but having listened to that particular chapter, I wholeheartedly agree with her views.  She takes us through her hilarious observations on what ‘Mirandaland’ would be like when she is queen of the world and she has decided  that everyone should be issued with a regulation kaftan and a pair of clogs – the clogs could be selected to show off your own personality and she would opt for a polka-dot pair!  She concluded at the end of the chapter that she was so over trying to conform, is now happy in her skin and is just going to enjoy life – now this is the piece that I wholeheartedly agree with – not the bit about the kaftans and the clogs!

I totally agree that I would love everyone to be totally happy in their own skin.  It is certainly something I work on with my clients.  How many times have I heard people say ‘I’ll come to see you when I have lost weight, when I have made it, when I get my next pay-rise’.

How would it be that by being confident with how you look, it actually helped you to achieve success?  Let me give you a great example.  A client of mine called me one day, she was distressed and down, she had put weight on and couldn’t fasten her jackets.  She had her own business which really relied on her being out there networking and growing her contacts.  She had got to a stage where she really didn’t want to go out at all because she felt so terrible.  She had lost all motivation and couldn’t even begin to start to do anything about it.  We immediately went out shopping and bought just a few key pieces that fitted her right at that moment and made her feel good.  By the end of the trip she was feeling much more positive and looked amazing.  The fact that she felt better actually helped her to find the motivation she needed to get back on track with her weight-loss and as we speak right now, she is several stones lighter, enjoying life and looking the picture of health.

So yes Miranda, I totally agree that we should all be comfortable in our own skin and it’s my mission to help all of my clients to feel that way.

I hope you have had a fabulous weekend

Onward to week 3 of the ultimate blog challenge tomorrow!

Lyn

Standard

4 thoughts on “Kaftans and clogs!

  1. Great thoughts Lyn, and I’m a big fan of Miranda too! So true that self-confidence is a big factor in motivation – it can be a bit of a vicious circle when you’re not feeling great about yourself, trying to make the changes to improve things, can’t it?

    • Thank you Kat, we are loving listening to Miranda and are watching the re-runs on Gold too! Our 11 year old daughter has discovered it, so we are enjoying it all over again!

Please Leave a Reply

