First Impressions, Leadership, Lyn Bromley, Women in business

A little help from my friends…..

Week 2 of the Ultimate Blog Challenge.  I have been contemplating all day on which topic to write about and the answer presented itself though a number of conversations I have had over the course of the day.

Whether you are employed or running your own business it is absolutely crucial to get the right support.  Without it, it is much harder to be successful ‘no man is an island’.

I have a number of mentors, raving fans, friends, supporters, family, colleagues and  learned experts in my corner helping and supporting me.  Now that may seem strange given that a large part of my role is training, mentoring and coaching, but I am great believer in taking your own medicine.  How can I be a great mentor, coach or leader without receiving my own support?  I am absolutely committed to being the best I can be, so in turn, I can help others to be the best they can be too.

Over the course of the next month I shall be introducing you to a number of my mentors, supporters, peers and colleagues so that you too can benefit from their expertise.

The first of whom I shall be introducing tomorrow.  He is Gordon Carmichael and he runs a fantastic creative agency called Key Parker.  My husband happens to be the Client Services Director there and Gordon is the owner and MD.  I have never seen my husband happier in his career.  Gordon has managed to create an amazing company full of passionate and caring professionals who absolutely love what they do!  They were responsible for re-branding my business, First Impressions and dealing with them was an absolute pleasure.  Gordon will be my guest blogger tomorrow talking all about customer service.

Final thought for the day – I can’t end without mentioning Margaret Thatcher who died today.  Whatever your politics or thoughts on Maggie, she was indeed an inspirational woman and our only female PM that the country has ever seen.  I do hope that the current government increases their ratio of women MP’s and I’d love to see another female PM some day – if she is the right person for the role of course – maybe Karren Brady is setting her sights on that role!

Until tomorrow,

Lyn

Standard

5 thoughts on “A little help from my friends…..

  1. Lovely to have chatted with you today and looking forward to meeting some of your amazing support ‘team’ on this blog. And yes MT was indeed inspirational as a woman in that post, and we forget this was late 70’s and 80’s too.

  2. Hi Lyn,

    Like you, I “get by with a little help from my friends.” In fact, I believe that anyone who accomplishes much has help from others. Leverage and synergy are two of my favorite concepts, which I have written about several times. It is a coincidence that my post today http://www.socialinfluencestrategy.com/2013/04/08/alliances-tribes-and-social-syndication/ fell just under yours. It is all about Interdependence.

    I appreciate your confirmation that we are all in this together — and I mean we are all in everything together.

    Your new friend,

    Buddy

  3. Love this post Lyn, and I agree with you about Margaret Thatcher – she made an impression on us all, she lived, she tried and she did the best she could with what she thought was right – maybe in hindsight it wasn’t the right thing, but she tried.

    I can’t wait to meet your support system, because it is so important to have one, 🙂 Great Post 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

